New sounds to the sadness – Wake Owl’s “Gold”

It was long overdue. And having friends over for dinner was the perfect excuse. I needed to update my playlist – Love & Lost Love.

This time, I added four tracks;

And the favorite by far is the beautiful “Gold” by Wake Owl (YouTube) and here are the lyrics;

So, didn’t you find love or salvation in what they do,
a heart is built of gold, they fairies they are too, it’s in the hands you
Hold,
How long can we ignore, we build a little more, and then we break our truth

Ooo

I don’t feel like I’m falling, I’m up against the sky,
I said I’d taken it all in to make the good life,
I don’t feel like I’m falling, I’m up against the sky,
Let’s grab the heart of the world and turn into the light

 But I cannot turn around, the angels hear me now; go where I’m bound,
you smile like you know the new world has been found

Ooo

I don’t feel like I’m falling, I’m up against the sky,
I said I’d taken it all in to make the good life,
I don’t feel like I’m falling, I’m up against the sky,
Let’s grab the heart of the world and turn into the light
I don’t feel like I’m falling, I’m up against the sky,
Let’s grab the heart of the world and turn into the light

If you want more of the depressive stuff, you can always take a listen to my playlist Sound of (Indie) Love and Lost Love at Spotify, which contains the Blackheart Procession, Iron & Wine, Tullycraft, The Decemberists, Ween, Noah And The Whale, Broken Family Band, The National, The Magnetic Fields and lots of other artists singing about love, lost love, depression, isolation and heartache!

Leave a Reply

